Let’s Talk Bookish: The Makings of a Great Audiobook

Hello, and happy April! I feel like March went by so fast, and I can’t believe that it’s already the fourth month of the year. It’s also the first day of Camp Nanowrimo today, which I’m very excited for! Anyways, today is my first LTB post as the host of Let’s Talk Bookish, and it’s a really great topic, so thank you so much to Mikaela for suggesting this topic, and let’s get into the post!

Let’s Talk Bookish is a weekly bookish meme created by Rukky @ Eternity Books and is hosted by me! Each Friday, there is a discussion topic for bloggers to write about, and this week’s topic the makings of a great audiobook (suggested by Mikaela @ Mikaela Reads).


Do you listen to audiobooks?

I do! I love audiobooks, and I listen to them all the time. They’re helpful if I need to multitask, and I also just like to be able to listen to them throughout the day. I read an overall much larger number of books because I read audiobooks, since it gives me time to read when I wouldn’t be able to read a physical book, like if I’m at school, or at home but have other things to do that allow me to listen to something.

If so, what makes a good audiobook? Is it the narrators or does it depend on the genre?

I think that what makes a good audiobook is definitely the narrator. Audiobooks with really good narrators can be so immersive, and the characters can really be brought to life. However, audiobooks with boring narrators just aren’t as interesting, and can feel a lot more bland. Before I download audiobooks, I always try to listen to samples of the narrators if I can because that’s the biggest thing that goes into what makes a good audiobook for me.

For me personally, the genre doesn’t have an impact on how good the audiobook is. I’ve listened to audiobooks of a huge range of genres, and it hasn’t been any more difficult than reading a physical book would have been. However, when I first started listening to a lot of audiobooks, most of the books I read were rereads. That was nice for me because as I was getting more used to audiobooks, I was training my brain to be able to listen and remember better. Now, I’ve read lots of contemporary, fantasy, historical fiction, dystopian and even non-fiction audiobooks, so the genre really doesn’t change my experience of an audiobook at all for me.

What are some of your recommendations for amazing audiobooks?

I’ve listened to some amazing audiobooks, by amazing authors and with amazing narrators. Here are eight that I’ve really loved:


Wrapping this up…

I love listening to audiobooks, and for me the narrator is the biggest part of whether or not I enjoy and audiobook. The eight audiobooks above are all very different styles, are different genres, and are all really amazing! What they all have in common are great narrators who really bring the stories to life.

I can’t wait to see all of your thoughts on this week’s topic, so if you have a blog post, don’t forget to add it to the link-up below!

You are invited to the Inlinkz link party!

Click here to enter
https://fresh.inlinkz.com/js/widget/load.js?id=a8b40ada7693d64e5923

Do you listen to a lot of audiobooks? Is the narrator or genre that makes a good audiobook for you? What are some audiobooks you loved? Chat with me in the comments below!

6 thoughts on “Let’s Talk Bookish: The Makings of a Great Audiobook

  1. i think my view on audiobooks is quite similar. it’s definitely more about the narrator than the genre! however, if it is a longer/more complex fantasy, then i do prefer to read it in physical or digital format because i tend to be very forgetful when it comes to names, so reading them in my head it’s easier to memorize. but i loooove non fiction in audiobook format! becoming was such a great experience and i also really love me by elton john, because the narration was so good in that one too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. i’ve noticed that a lot of people for this topic have talked about liking non-fiction audiobooks, and it’s really cool how the audiobook format can really change how much so many enjoy this genre!! almost all of the non-fiction i’ve read over the past couple years have been audiobooks, and it’s helped me realize how much i like the genre.
      i also always thought that way about longer high fantasy audiobooks, and i still think that it might be true for me to some degree, but i was able to listen to the audiobook of The Priory of the Orange Tree, which went surprisingly well for me. i guess it really just depends!!

      Like

    1. It definitely can feel quite intimidating, but it’s definitely worth it once you dive in!! the narrator is really amazing, and i loved listening to it!! i hope you like it if you get to reading it 💕💕

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.