My top reads of 2022

Hello, and happy Tuesday! It snowed a little overnight, which was fun, and my school had a late start so I was able to finally finish this post! Anyways, I’ve been working on this list for a while, and I am so excited to share my favorite books of 2022. I think that this is a pretty good list, and I loved all nine of these books. So, let’s get into my top reads of 2022!

Last Night at the Telegraph Club, by Malinda Lomy review

Last Night at the Telegraph Club was one of the first books I read in 2022, and was absolutely amazing. It’s such a moving and beautiful book, and I really loved the writing style. The character development is also fantastic, and all the characters had so much depth. One of my main reading goals for last year was to read more queer historical fiction, and this was a success in that section!

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo, by Taylor Jenkins Reid

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo is just as amazing as everyone says it is. I went into it with such high expectations, and every part of the book made me fall in love with Taylor Jenkins Reid’s writing. It’s also just such an incredible story; I couldn’t put it down, and got through it so quickly!

The Rose Code, by Kate Quinn

I’ve read a ton of historical fiction set during and after world war two, and The Rose Code is by far one of the best books in the time period. It follows three women who work as code breakers at Bletchley Park during the war, and switches between during the war and a few years after, as the women work to solve a mystery and uncover a traitor. The writing is incredible, and the way the book switches between times is done so well!

The One True Me and You, by Remi K. Englandmy review

The One True Me and You is a YA book about identity, acceptance, and community, and I loved every page. The lesbian and non-binary representation is amazing, and I really loved all the characters. I really loved reading this one, and I thought the story was really cute. The whole book is also set over just one weekend, and I liked that aspect of it as well!

When You Get the Chance, by Emma Lord

When You Get the Chance is creative, exciting, and overall just so much fun to read! I love Emma Lord’s books so much, and they always just make me so happy. The characters are all so fleshed-out and well written that you really feel like you’re right there in the story while you’re reading!

Never Ever Getting Back Together, by Sophie Gonzalesmy review

I love Sophie Gonzales’s books so much, and Never Ever Getting Back Together might be my new favorite of hers. It follows two girls who go on this dating show “Second Chance Romance”, where a bunch of ex-girlfriends of the famous Jordy go to have a second chance at love. But, Maya, one of the main characters is really just on for revenge, and Maya and Skye end up falling in love while on the show. It’s an amazing premise that leads to an absolutely incredible and hilarious sapphic rom com!

Firekeeper’s Daughter, by Angeline Boulley

Firekeeper’s Daughter, by Angeline Boulley is such an incredible book! I listened to the audiobook and the reader was amazing; it really brought the story to life. It’s a devastating book, but is so well written. My mom and I also read it at the same time, and we were able to talk about it as we went through it which was really neat.

Daisy Jones and the Six, by Taylor Jenkins Reid

After I read The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo, I desperately wanted to read more books by Taylor Jenkins Reid. So, I decided to read Daisy Jones and the Six, and it was amazing. The way the book is written and the way the story is told is so unique, and is done so well. The interviews and recording transcripts make all characters so vivid and real, and I’ve never read a book written like it.

Foul Lady Fortune, by Chloe Gong

I really loved reading These Violent Delights and Our Violent Ends, so I was so excited to pick up Chloe Gong’s newest book. Foul Lady Fortune, set a few years after Chloe Gong’s original duology was amazing. Getting to read more about some familiar characters was amazing, but I also loved all of the new characters, and the new storyline. I can’t wait to read the sequel!!

Have you read any of these? What were the best books you read in 2022? Are any of these books on your TBR? Chat with me in the comments below!

9 thoughts on “My top reads of 2022

  1. I read the short story that started Malinda Lo’s LNatTC before I knew the full book was a thing, and I fell in love with it immediately, so I was stoked to discover she’d expanded it into a full novel. Definitely in my top 5 for 2022!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, I love Highlight lists! Sounds like you really enjoyed your reads.
    This is the point where I have to admit, that I haven’t read any of your books and haven’t even heard of most of them but hey. I’m sure they were all great. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.