WWW Wednesday 49

We’re already more than a week into December, and I’ve gotten a lot of reading done, even with all of the school stuff I’ve had to do. Anyways, I don’t have a lot to say for the h

WWW Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Sam @ Taking On a World of Words, and how it works is each week I answer three questions about my the books I’ve read, finished reading and want to read next.

The three Ws:

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

What are you currently reading?

I am currently reading Keeper of the Lost Cities, by Shannon Messenger, and Le Petit Prince, by Antoine De Saint-Exupéry.

I’m a little ways into Keeper of the Lost Cities, and I’m liking it. The pacing so far is kind of weird, but I am hoping that it improves. The whole concept of the lost cities, and the telepathy is really interesting. Sophie is a great character, and I’m excited to finish the book!

I a few pages away from finishing The Little Prince, and it’s continuing to be a very fascinating book. I am reading it in French, which is harder for me since it’s not my native language, but I’ve understood a fair amount of it so far.

What did you recently finish reading?

I… actually read this week. For the last month I’ve been averaging one book a week, and with nanowrimo over, I’ve had so much more time.

I finished Furia, by Yamilé Saied Méndez, Code Name Hélène, by Ariel Lawhon, My Calamity Jane, by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton and Jodi Meadows and The Star-Touched Queen, by Roshani Chokshi.

Furia was really incredible. It was a heartbreaking book, and so well written. I loved the audiobook, and I’m so glad I was able to read it. All of characters were amazing, and the plot of the book was complex but not too difficult to understand. My review of this is coming soon.

Code Name Hélène was such an interesting and amazing book, and I’m so glad that I finally got it from the library. The story of Nancy Wake was so fascinating to read about, and the pacing of the novel was done perfectly. The book followed a few storylines, taking place in different time periods, but both followed Nancy. There were also the few parts where we followed Henri in 3rd person, and although at the beginning I didn’t understand that, it made much more sense later on in the book.

The Star-Touched Queen was a bit disappointing. I did enjoy it, and I thought that the writing was really beautiful. However, the plot was a bit all over the place, and the pacing made the story kind of confusing. The characters were all really interesting, and they all had a lot of depth. The mythology was woven into it in a really beautiful way as well. It was really interesting to see this book compared to Roshani Chokshi’s more recent books, like the first two books in the Gilded Wolves trilogy.

If you want to see all the books I’ve read so far this year, check out my Goodreads, where I (mostly) keep up with all the books I read.

What do you think you’ll read next?

Three books that I really want to get to this week are Star Daughter, by Shveta Thakrar, Legendborn, by Tracy Deonn, and Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares, by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan.

I’m mostly going to be trying to get through my December TBR though, and I might decide on others if I feel like it.

Have you read any of the books I mentioned? What are you currently reading? Chat with me in the comments below!

5 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday 49

  1. I’m so glad you’re enjoying KOTLC! I agree that the pacing is kind of slow in the first book, but the later books are a lot better in my opinion. Also, are you team Fitzphie or Sokeefe??

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Right now, neither because Sophie is only twelve in the first book, but I hope that at some point Sokeefe is a thing because I really like Keefe, and Fitz is kind of annoying.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.