Let’s Talk Bookish: How are you doing on your reading goals so far this year?

Hello, and happy July! I can’t believe that we’re already halfway through 2022; it feels like the year has gone by so fast. Today’s LTB topic is all about checking up on your goals for the year, so I’m excited to look back at what I’d hope to accomplish at the beginning of the year. I have a lot of reading goals, as well as blogging and writing goals to look back on, so here we go into the post!

Let’s Talk Bookish is a weekly bookish meme created by Rukky @ Eternity Books and has been hosted by me since April of this year! Each Friday, there is a discussion topic for bloggers to write about. This week’s topic is How are you doing on your reading goals so far this year? (suggested by Amber @ Escape Life in the Pages), and that’s what I’m going to be writing about today.


Did you set any reading goals for yourself at the beginning of the year? If so, how are you doing with them? Any you’ve already met?

My main reading goal for 2022 was to read 104 books. As of right now, I’ve read 48 books this year, which I’m really happy about! I’m only 4 books behind, so I’m fairly confident that I’ll be able to reach my goal for the year.

I also had planned to take part in a couple of Storygraph reading challenges. I’m not doing that well on any of them, but I’m still going to work on completing them. The Lord of the Rings reading challenge is just to read the Lord of the Rings books, the Rick Riordan one is to read a book from each of Rick Riordan’s series, and the Sapphic reading challenge is 12 prompts for different kinds of sapphic books.

I do really love the Storygraph reading challenge feature, and it’s a really neat way to track your reading challenges throughout the year.

My third reading goal was all about expanding the genres I read, particularly with reading more LGBTQ+ historical fiction, and also reading some older classics.

I haven’t really read any older classics yet this year, so I’ll try to read a few by the end of 2022! Or just at least one!

Did you set any blogging goals? How are you doing with those?

I set three blogging goals for myself at the beginning of the year. The first was to lay out a posting schedule at the beginning of every month for the posts that I wanted to write. I didn’t do a good job with this during the Spring, but I did at the beginning of the year, and I think I’m getting a little better now. I still am not great with sticking to those schedules, so I’ll try to work on that for the rest of the year.

My next goal was to plan out and draft my posts in advance, if I couldn’t schedule them in advance. I kind of went through phases of doing this and then not doing this. There were times when I’d be really good with writing them out in advance, and scheduling my posts for the next morning, but then a couple weeks later I’d be back to posting them at the last minute. So I’ll try to be more organized for the rest of the year with that.

My last goal was to set aside more time for bloghopping. And I did not do that. I try to read other posts, and comment on other blogs when I can, but I’ve been so busy with school and life these past few months that it’s been hard to stay on track with it.

Are there any goals you want to add?

One goal I want to add is to try and stay on top of my wordpress notifications, and to respond to comments within a reasonable amount of time!

And I also want to set the goal of always (from now on) posting the Let’s Talk Bookish posts on Fridays. A lot of the time I end up posting them late, so I want to try to always get them out on Fridays, and if not by Friday then on Saturday at the latest.


Wrapping this up…

I had a lot of reading and blogging goals that I set at the beginning of the year, and I think that I’m doing okay with them. I still have a lot to do and to finish by the end of the year, but hopefully I’ll be able to reach all my goals!

If you wrote a post for this topic, link it below so that other bloggers can read your post!!

You are invited to the Inlinkz link party!

Click here to enter
https://fresh.inlinkz.com/js/widget/load.js?id=c0efdbe6b4add43dd7ef

Did you set any reading or blogging goals for yourself at the beginning of the year? How are you doing with them? Are there any goals you want to add? Chat with me in the comments below!

3 thoughts on “Let’s Talk Bookish: How are you doing on your reading goals so far this year?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.