The Voting Booth, by Brandy Colbert | a spoiler-free review

Hello! I read this book a more than a week ago, but I have taken a lot of time to write this review. I loved this book, it was just kind of hard to write, I guess. Anyway, here is my review of The Voting Booth, by Brandy Colbert.

The Voting Booth

Author: Brandy Colbert

Release Date: July 7th, 2020

Publisher: Disney-Hyperion

Genre: Young adult, contemporary, romance

Series? Standalone

*this review is spoiler free*

Synopsis:

From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love story perfect for fans of The Sun is Also A Star
Marva Sheridan was born ready for this day. She’s always been driven to make a difference in the world, and what better way than to vote in her first election? 
Duke Crenshaw is do done with this election. He just wants to get voting over with so he can prepare for his band’s first paying gig tonight. 
Only problem? Duke can’t vote. 
When Marva sees Duke turned away from their polling place, she takes it upon herself to make sure his vote is counted. She hasn’t spent months doorbelling and registering voters just to see someone denied their right. And that’s how their whirlwind day begins, rushing from precinct to precinct, cutting school, waiting in endless lines, turned away time and again, trying to do one simple thing: vote. They may have started out as strangers, but as Duke and Marva team up to beat a rigged system (and find Marva’s missing cat), it’s clear that there’s more to their connection than a shared mission for democracy. 
Romantic and triumphant, The Voting Booth is proof that you can’t sit around waiting for the world to change?but some things are just meant to be.

This novel takes place over the course of one day, an Election Day. Similar to The Sun is Also a Star, by Nicola Yoon, the book follows a chance meeting of two very different teens.

18-year-old Marva Sheridan can’t wait to vote. 18-year-old Duke Crenshaw can’t wait to be done voting. When Marva sees Duke turned away from the polling place, she immediately decides to make sure that Duke will be able to vote.

This takes the two of them on adventures all over the place, and throughout the day, we learn more and more of each of the characters past.

I wasn’t sure if I was going to like the book, but once I was a few chapters in, I knew that I was going to love it. The book starts off strong, and only gets better. I really loved how we learned more and more about the character’s, most especially Duke’s, histories as the book went on.

Brandy Colbert gave us just enough information to know what was going on, and little enough to keep us constantly guessing at what would happen next.

Like I said above, the author supplied just enough information to keep us informed while also keeping us interested. What I felt was best about the writing was that I was really able to picture what was going on, understand each character, and really invest myself in the story and what was going on.

The story takes place over a single day, but despite that, we still have plenty of time to meet and get to know an entire cast of characters. Marva, Duke, Ida… I loved reading about them and getting to know each individual and unique character.

Brandy Colbert is the award-winning author of several books for children and teens, including The Voting BoothThe Only Black Girls in TownThe Revolution of Birdie Randolph, and Stonewall Book Award winner Little & Lion. She is co-writer of Misty Copeland’s Life in Motion young readers edition, and her short fiction and essays have been published in a variety of critically acclaimed anthologies for young people. Her books have been chosen as Junior Library Guild selections, and have appeared on many best of lists, including the American Library Association’s Best Fiction for Young Adults and Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Adult Readers. She is on faculty at Hamline University’s MFA program in writing for children, and lives in Los Angeles.

Website | Goodreads

I think that this book is an important read for everyone, especially because it is an election year. The book talks about many different things; the importance of voting, voter suppression, and so much more. The cast of characters is large and each person is unique. The writing is wonderful; it tells us what we need to know, and shows us everything that is happening.

My rating: 5/5 stars

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Recommendable: Yes

To who? I think that this is a wonderful novel for fans of young adult romance, and also anyone looking for a book that talks about topics like the importance of voting, writes about teens who are very active in their communities, and is pretty fast paced.

Have you read The Voting Booth? What did you think of this review? Chat with me in the comments below!

10 thoughts on “The Voting Booth, by Brandy Colbert | a spoiler-free review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.